The 2016 Presidential Election: Don’t Lose Heart. VOTE!!!

With less than 30 days to the election of a new American president, I, a black Americanblack-woman-screaming
woman, find myself in a political daze and at times feeling like I am going to lose my mind. With this circus-like election campaign, I am not enthusiastic about either candidate.

BUT with that said, let me say this…let me be very clear.  I will not throw away my right to vote!

I have heard some of my co-citizens express that they will not be voting because they don’t believe either candidate is worthy of the oval office. But with that said, who is? Really. When you think about it and review our mirky political history as a nation, was there anyone who was squeaky clean or without sin? ABSOLUTELY NOT!

So what is my point?

My point is to point you back to the reason we exercise our right to vote. As an black american whose ancestors have been hosed, chased and/or shot down for this privilege, I refuse to let anyone or thing deter me from leaving my home, getting in my car, walking into the voting booth and casting my blood bought vote. Even if the candidates aren’t perfect (I am voting for the lesser of the two evils since realistically, one of them will be elected.), I will go on record exercising my right to vote.

I know some of you are saying and have said, “I can’t vote for either one of them. My conscious won’t let me?” I hear your pain. BUT if you are a woman or a black American, how can you NOT vote? So many have sacrificed for YOUR right to vote.

Now what I am about to say, I strongly do not recommend. But if you really can’t find the heart to vote for either one of the leading candidates, instead of not voting at all, vote for who you would like to see in the oval office. Yes, I know some will say it is the same as throwing away a vote, but it is not. You will go on record exercising your right to vote and also send a message that you are not willing to settle for someone you view as not qualified to lead your country. Hopefully, the next go around all political parties will take the election process  more seriously and will better vet and present quality candidates.

The point is to vote because you, via your ancestors sacrifice, have earned that right!

So don’t lose heart…create hope by casting your vote and voice for a better future.

Much Luv 4 Ya,

Angela

Singer/songwriter/speaker/philanthropist 

www.sounds4thesoul.com

3ABN Interview

Twitter: @sounds4thesoul

FB: Angela.Bryant

Instagram:  Angela L Bryant

Pinterest:  Angela L Bryant

Tumblr:  Angela-Sounds4theSoul

1 thought on “The 2016 Presidential Election: Don’t Lose Heart. VOTE!!!

  1. All right! You go girl! I’ve been telling the more apathetic peoples in my circle that the presidency isn’t the only seat up for grabs, and they’ll find something they like in the other levels at the very least, so why not go? Besides, if they’re smart about it, they can take off work to vote–extended lunch break! Me, I’ll be there, early a.m., book in hand, sitting outside, waiting for it to open so I can go exercise and get on with my day.

Leave a comment